Author Message

noobchiken

Rank 0
Joined
10 Nov 2012
Posts
1
Location
Székesfehérvár Hungary
PostedApr 21, 2013 6:41 am

fail

asd
i want a buy an frf-2 !
i push "buy"-------> Failed to buy item

WHY?
Advertisement

The2009RKO

GameSage: Alliance of Valiant Arms
Joined
20 Apr 2010
Posts
5430
Location
Portugal
PostedApr 21, 2013 6:46 am
Hey there mate,

Please read this thread.

GM's are already aware of the issue and are investigating it.

Kyunikeon

Rank 5.1
Kyunikeon
Joined
19 Jul 2012
Posts
7682
Location
Academic City Japan
PostedApr 21, 2013 6:46 am
Some people are having issue with server-sided stuff.

Aeria should fix this soon.

hiimecco

Rank 0
hiimecco
Joined
16 Apr 2013
Posts
35
Location
Sweden
PostedApr 21, 2013 7:43 am
hi im ecco Quick notice, Aeria can't do anything about fixing any types of bug / error, the only one with access to the databases are Red Duck that is the developers of AVA. What the Aeria GM's basicly do is they send in a report to the project manager(s) that decides if they should fix the bug or not. If they consider it as a priority. Then the project manager sends a request to red ducks AVA Dev team a.k.a redmine who takes care of the issue. Hope it explained something at least.

Kyunikeon

Rank 5.1
Kyunikeon
Joined
19 Jul 2012
Posts
7682
Location
Academic City Japan
PostedApr 21, 2013 9:43 am
hiimecco wrote:
hi im ecco Quick notice, Aeria can't do anything about fixing any types of bug / error, the only one with access to the databases are Red Duck that is the developers of AVA. What the Aeria GM's basicly do is they send in a report to the project manager(s) that decides if they should fix the bug or not. If they consider it as a priority. Then the project manager sends a request to red ducks AVA Dev team a.k.a redmine who takes care of the issue. Hope it explained something at least.  
Buying stuff is server-sided so they CAN fix that.

hiimecco

Rank 0
hiimecco
Joined
16 Apr 2013
Posts
35
Location
Sweden
PostedApr 23, 2013 8:39 am
Kyunikeon wrote:
hiimecco wrote:
hi im ecco Quick notice, Aeria can't do anything about fixing any types of bug / error, the only one with access to the databases are Red Duck that is the developers of AVA. What the Aeria GM's basicly do is they send in a report to the project manager(s) that decides if they should fix the bug or not. If they consider it as a priority. Then the project manager sends a request to red ducks AVA Dev team a.k.a redmine who takes care of the issue. Hope it explained something at least.  
Buying stuff is server-sided so they CAN fix that.  


GM's? No.

Cifyra

Rank 0
Cifyra
Joined
02 Aug 2012
Posts
4
Location
Canada
PostedJun 03, 2013 5:53 pm
June 3rd, still not fixed...

ramsisthe3rd

Rank 5
ramsisthe3rd
Joined
28 Jan 2009
Posts
4641
Location
United States
PostedJun 04, 2013 7:51 am
This error should be fixed by next patch.

Posted By Aeria Mobile
Display posts from previous:   Sort by: