Author Message

4DD1

Rank 2
4DD1
Joined
03 Aug 2012
Posts
511
Location
United States
PostedFeb 06, 2013 11:01 pm

Fps cap

What are some ways to break the fps cap. I have a gtx 560ti and a 60hz monitor if that helps.

Posted By Aeria Mobile
Advertisement

epicme09

Rank 0
Joined
18 Nov 2012
Posts
87
Location
Canada
PostedFeb 06, 2013 11:02 pm
breaking it with 560 is almost useless

nvidia control pan > force v sync off
ingame > vsync on

xKonsta

Rank 2
xKonsta
Joined
09 Aug 2012
Posts
400
Location
Waterloo Canada
PostedFeb 06, 2013 11:21 pm
epicme09 wrote:
breaking it with 560 is almost useless

nvidia control pan > force v sync off
ingame > vsync on  


why is it useless for 560?

Kyunikeon

Rank 5.1
Kyunikeon
Joined
19 Jul 2012
Posts
7682
Location
Academic City Japan
PostedFeb 07, 2013 1:19 am
It is useless when you have a 60Hz monitor. 200 is enough

Beast9712

Rank 0
Joined
05 Apr 2012
Posts
95
Location
Canada
PostedFeb 07, 2013 1:39 am
I have a 560 ti and I get 300+ fps, even though you cant really tell the difference, the gameplay is a lot smoother, so in a way it does matter.

XiaoJyun

Rank 5
XiaoJyun
Joined
25 Jul 2012
Posts
3345
Location
Slovenia
PostedFeb 07, 2013 4:19 am
turn v-sync in-game off or it caps FPS at 60

Why do Zombies want your Brains? Because you do not use them anyway!

dreamz_keeper

Rank 0
dreamz_keeper
Joined
23 Jul 2012
Posts
163
Location
United States
PostedFeb 07, 2013 4:43 am
epicme09 wrote:
breaking it with 560 is almost useless

nvidia control pan > force v sync off
ingame > vsync on  
what does forcing v-sync off do? is it like overclocking?

AVA IGN: RiceNips | AK IGN: ShinyMudkip LoL IGN: RnGMudkip

Beast9712

Rank 0
Joined
05 Apr 2012
Posts
95
Location
Canada
PostedFeb 07, 2013 4:49 am
dreamz_keeper wrote:
epicme09 wrote:
breaking it with 560 is almost useless

nvidia control pan > force v sync off
ingame > vsync on  
what does forcing v-sync off do? is it like overclocking?  


In no way is it like overclocking, all I can say is that if you turn v-sync off in your graphics card settings, and turn v-sync on in game it removes the fps cap of 200 and allows you to obtain more frames if your graphics card can perform that well. This only works for Nvidia graphics cards and not for ATI. I can achieve up to 400 frames in some maps and 200+ fps while recording because I recently got a new processor, motherboard, and graphics card that can handle the workload of ava. hope this helps Smile

dreamz_keeper

Rank 0
dreamz_keeper
Joined
23 Jul 2012
Posts
163
Location
United States
PostedFeb 07, 2013 4:54 am
Beast9712 wrote:
dreamz_keeper wrote:
epicme09 wrote:
breaking it with 560 is almost useless

nvidia control pan > force v sync off
ingame > vsync on  
what does forcing v-sync off do? is it like overclocking?  


In no way is it like overclocking, all I can say is that if you turn v-sync off in your graphics card settings, and turn v-sync on in game it removes the fps cap of 200 and allows you to obtain more frames if your graphics card can perform that well. This only works for Nvidia graphics cards and not for ATI. I can achieve up to 400 frames in some maps and 200+ fps while recording because I recently got a new processor, motherboard, and graphics card that can handle the workload of ava. hope this helps Smile  
can I ask for your computer build? Mad

AVA IGN: RiceNips | AK IGN: ShinyMudkip LoL IGN: RnGMudkip

Beast9712

Rank 0
Joined
05 Apr 2012
Posts
95
Location
Canada
PostedFeb 07, 2013 5:31 am
dreamz_keeper wrote:
Beast9712 wrote:
dreamz_keeper wrote:
epicme09 wrote:
breaking it with 560 is almost useless

nvidia control pan > force v sync off
ingame > vsync on  
what does forcing v-sync off do? is it like overclocking?  


In no way is it like overclocking, all I can say is that if you turn v-sync off in your graphics card settings, and turn v-sync on in game it removes the fps cap of 200 and allows you to obtain more frames if your graphics card can perform that well. This only works for Nvidia graphics cards and not for ATI. I can achieve up to 400 frames in some maps and 200+ fps while recording because I recently got a new processor, motherboard, and graphics card that can handle the workload of ava. hope this helps Smile  
can I ask for your computer build? Mad  


Intel i5 3570 @3.4 ghz, OC to 4 ghz
Nvidia gtx 560ti twin frozr III
8GB ram
MSI Z77A-G45 Mobo
Smile

Display posts from previous:   Sort by: